Two-factor authentication is a method for increasing the security of your account.
When you enable two-factor authentication, you will be required to confirm your login information via two separate methods, which protects your account from unauthorized access by third parties.
You can enable or disable two-factor authentication from the two-factor authentication settings page.
About verification apps
Two-factor authentication uses authentication apps such as Google Authenticator and Microsoft Authenticator. If you don't already have an authentication app installed on your preferred device, please install an app in order to proceed.
To learn more about authentication apps, please check this article.
If you enable two-factor authentication using an authentication app, you will need to use a six-digit verification code generated by the app in order to log in.
If you can't log in using two-factor authentication, please check this article.
About backup codes
If you enable two-factor authentication, a list of backup codes will be generated for you automatically. Each backup code can only be used once.
If your device is lost or broken and you can't log in using your authentication app, you can use a backup code to log in.
If you cannot log in with your authentication app or your backup codes, you will be permanently logged out of your account, so if you enable two-factor authentication, please make sure to keep your backup codes safe at all times.
About trusted browsers
When you check "Trust this browser" and log in using two-factor authentication, you will be able to skip the two-factor authentication for a certain period of time from the next time you log in from the same browser on the same device. If you log in on a different browser or a different device, you will need to go through the two-factor authentication process as usual.
Please only use the trusted browser feature on a device that you do not share with others.
In the following cases, even if you used a trusted browser in the past, you will still need to go through the two-factor authentication process to log in.
- If you log in to your trusted browser after the time period has expired
- If you log in to a browser for which you removed the "trusted browser" setting
- If you log in to your browser in Incognito, secret, or private browsing mode
- If you log in after erasing your cookies and/or browsing history
Disable trusted browser settings
From the two-factor authentication settings page, under the "Trusted browsers" item, if you click the "Revoke all" button, all your trusted browser settings will be revoked.
If you set a trusted browser on a shared device by mistake, or a device on which you had trusted browser settings installed is lost or stolen, please use this procedure to disable trusted browser settings in order to protect your account security.